Growing old sucks……..

There is no glory in growing old.

Seriously.

Growing old sucks and I don’t want to do it.

By some people’s standards I already am old, but I’m not so old that I need anyone to take care of me.  If and when I become that old I hope that I can accept the help graciously…….but it still sucks.

I don’t want someone feeding me, bathing me, wiping me…….I want to do those things for myself.  If I get too old to do that then I don’t want to be here anymore.

There is no glory in growing old.

The Bible says that this life is like a breath…it’s here and then it’s gone.  It says that life is like a flower that is here today and tomorrow is mowed down and thrown in the fire.

Anyone who has lived long enough to see the beginning of old age should be able to understand that.  It’s true.

There is no glory in growing old.

It’s just hard.

Published in: on April 26, 2010 at 2:44 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://imtheprisonerofhope.wordpress.com/2010/04/26/growing-old-sucks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awe… you’re not old Connie. You’re still spry as I’ve ever seen em. And when you are old well I’ll probably be right there alongside you. Wrinkled and whithered and filling the day with fantastic lies about whatever we’ve done before. It’ll be good. Promise.

  2. Cheer up, C.

    Old is not always bad:

  3. How come you think I like young friends like you so much Caleb….cuz you’ll BE there when I get old and infirm. I’ll keep wiping myownself as long as you keep telling me those lies about all the things you say we did that we really didn’t.

  4. Your video proved my point, Bennie. Yeah, the rock and roll is still good even when it’s old but Tom Cruise no lookie like that anymore and neither does Bob Segar.

  5. Monsterbox called you “spry.” Ouch! How many young people do you hear referred to as “spry?”

    I’m sticking with my plan to go on a round-the-world cruise and then jump overboard as the ship sails back into home port.

  6. I heard tell that jumping overboard is “against the rules” Mary….as for “spry”, as long as Caleb promises to make sure someone, definitely besides him, wipes me, he can call me whatever he wants.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

