Blessed…….I’m blessed……

Last night was a blessed night alright.

First of all, I took a resident for an outing.  He didn’t want to go swimming at the indoor pool and it was an absolutely gorgeous afternoon just to drive around anyway.  For me, being cooped up in the house so much, it was just so nice to get out in the sun.  I felt it lift my mood in the first five minutes.

Well, we drove around just enjoying the day, listening to the radio and gabbing.  I’d been given some of the resident’s money and told to take him out to eat.  He never wants to do Ling Lings in Geneva, which is one of my faves because the food is good, plentiful and inexpensive, especially for what you get, so we decided to drive to Canandaigua.  Ooooo, the sun!  Me was lovin’ dat sun!

On the spur of the moment we just decided to go to Denny’s.  I didn’t realize how expensive they’ve become.  His meal came to $12.95 for a burger, fries, and drink.  Granted the burger was HUGE, and the fries were definitely not Mickey D fries, but still….$12.95?  A Tom Wahl’s Wahlburger isn’t even that much.

Well, when we walked in I had seen a sign that said you get a free Grand Slam breakfast on your birthday.  I told the girl that my birthday was exactly a week ago….do I still get the free meal?  She said she would ask.

YEP!

It was GOOD too.  Good and FATTENING!  Heh-heh-heh.

Two pancakes, two eggs, two sausage, hashbrowns.  With a water on the side it came to…..ummmm…..

$00.00

Heh-heh-heh…..

Okay, so I figured out what it WOULD have cost and gave her a 20% tip for that.

Then we drove around a little bit more, stopped in the new Wal-Mart supercenter in Geneva that is still under construction. He bought a candy bar and I bought a $7.00 Mellencamp CD (I told ya I was on a bender with him lately….btw, these are more recent songs, you can really tell he’s grown up alot).

Since I got yelled at last week for getting back so late I made a point of getting back early.  I helped with baths and putting to bed.  We were SWEATIN’ when we were done!  By 8:30 they were all done and I got to see the last half of DWTS while I folded laundry.  All in all a nice night at the home.

Then came the one hour drive back.  Used to be five minutes till I took this new job.

I’m driving down rte 14 and had passed through Watkin’s Glen.  It was pitch black but I could “feel” the cops.  Since I got my license at such a late age I’ve made up for it by doing a LOT of driving.  I’ve had those feelings before, the ones that tell me cops are around.  I’m almost always right.  So, I’m watching my speed, but it’s hard because one minute it’s 30, then it’s 35, then it’s 45, then it’s 55, then suddenly it’s 35 again.  If you aren’t watching carefully it is VERY easy to speed on this road.

So, I see the lights.

SHOOT!

“Lord, have mercy on me…..please….have mercy on me….Lord, please…..please…..”

He didn’t even have to ask for my license.  It was already out.  I didn’t have my registration information but the sticker thing was on the windshield and he checked my license out.  He said I was 10 over but he understood because it was an iffy area.  He said I went over the yellow line a little.  I said I was tired.  I explained that I work in the NYS group home in Dresden.  I told him I take care of two Alzheimer’s patients in their home in Corning.  I’m just ti-i-errrrd.  He understood.  Wow, a NYS trooper that actually understood.

He said the light was out above my license plate.  He told me that if I get it fixed and send the paper in that he gave me it won’t cost me anything.  My heart stopped thumping.  Okay, well, not exactly right away, but, yeah…….phew.

It definitely was a blessed night last night.  Sun, a free meal, a John Cougar Mellencamp CD, DWTS, and no ticket.  The Lord is good to me, and so I thank the Lord………….

Published in: on April 14, 2010 at 11:57 am  Comments (4)